ABCR Meeting Minutes February 26, 2010

The Alabama Board of Court Reporting met on Friday, February 26, 2010, in Montgomery at the Board office for the purpose of conducting Board business. Those present were as follows: Suzanne Frazier, Chair; Aubrey Ford Jr., Vice-Chair; Sabrina Lewis, Secretary; Tammy August, Member; Lois Robinson, Member. Not present were Bill Dawson, Member; and Kent Garrett, Member. Also present were Paula Scout McCaleb, Executive Director; Bettie Carmack, Assistant Attorney General; and Brandy L. Isenhour, Operations Manager and Recording Secretary.

The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. with a quorum present in the following: Suzanne Frazier, Aubrey Ford Jr., Sabrina Lewis, Lois Robinson, and Tammy August.

This meeting was advertised on the Secretary of State's web site and the Board web site, in accordance with the Open Meetings Act.

Sabrina Lewis made a motion to approve the Minutes from November 13, 2009, as presented. The motion was seconded by Suzanne Frazier and unanimously approved by the Board.

Sabrina Lewis made a motion to accept the proposed Language for Rules and Regulations change

257-X-3-.06 Renewal

(a) Every Court Reporter License in Alabama shall expire on September 30th of each year. The holder of the license may renew such license during the 60 days preceding the expiration date thereof by paying the required fee and completion of the application for renewal.

(b) It is the responsibility of each licensee to notify the Board of any change of address within 30 days. Failure to receive a renewal form from the Board shall not constitute an excuse for failure to renew licensure.

(c) Late Renewals may be received up to $\frac{60 \text{ days}}{50 \text{ days}} \frac{\text{six (6) months}}{50 \text{ following expiration of}}$ license with the required late renewal fee and application for renewal.

The motion was seconded by Lois Robinson and unanimously passed by the Board.

Suzanne Frazier made a motion to retain services with Leadership Alliance. The motion was seconded by Sabrina Lewis and was unanimously approved by the Board.

Lois Robinson made a motion to accept the Board's proposed fee change:

257-X-7 Appendices I Fee Schedule

License Fee \$<u>+2</u>00 Application Fee \$50 Renewal Fee \$<u>+2</u>00 Late Renewal Fee 20% of License Fee each month Temporary License Renewal Fee \$ 50 Re-Instatement Fee \$300

The motion was seconded by Sabrina Lewis and was unanimously approved by the Board.

Suzanne Frazier made a motion to request an emergency loan from the Budget office for the amount \$20,000.00 to carry the board over through the renewal period. The motion was seconded by Lois Robinson and was unanimously approved by the Board.

Sabrina Lewis made a motion to nominate Suzanne Frazier as Chair. The motion was seconded by Judge Ford and unanimously passed by the Board.

Suzanne Frazier made a motion to nominate Judge Ford as Vice Chair. The motion was seconded by Sabrina Lewis and was unanimously approved by the Board.

Suzanne Frazier made a motion to nominate Sabrina Lewis as Secretary. The motion was seconded by Tammy August and was unanimously approved by the Board.

Bettie Carmack wanted it on record that, as she has interpreted the Rule and Regulation, the Board has no authority to combine part (s) of the RPR and the state test to license court reporters. Per the Rules and Regulations:

257-X-3-.05 Examination

Applicants for licensure must pass the Written Knowledge Examination administered by NCRA and provide documentation of having passed the NCRA Registered Professional Reporter Examination (<u>RPR</u>), NVRA CVR Examination, or Alabama Skills Examination administered by ACRA.

Committee listings are as follows:

Temporary Licensure: Sabrina Lewis Lois Robinson Tammy August PR Committee: Aubrey Ford, Jr. Tammy August

CEU Committee: Suzanne Frazier Sabrina Lewis Lois Robinson

Legislative Committee: Bill Dawson Suzanne Frazier Paula McCaleb

The time being 3:56 p.m. and there being no further Board business, the meeting was adjourned. The Chair announced that the next meeting of the Board was scheduled for May 14, 2010.

Respectfully submitted,

Suzanne Frazier, Chair

Judge Aubrey Ford Jr., Vice-Chair

Paula McCaleb, Executive Director

Brandy L. Isenhour, Operations Manager, Serving as Recording Secretary