
Candace Wood – License #535 
Date:  March 10, 2022 
Violation: 
Code  of  Alabama  1975,  �34‐8B‐7  –  The  board  shall  promulgate  rules  necessary  to  implement  and 
administer this chapter.  The rules shall be adopted pursuant to the Alabama Administrative Procedure 
Act.   The  rules  shall be published  in  the  standards of professional practice and made available  to all 
licensees. 
Code of Alabama 1975, �34‐8B‐8 – After  January 1, 2007, any person who undertakes or attempts  to 
undertake the practice of court reporting for remuneration without first having procured a license, or who 
knowingly presents of files false information with the board for the purpose of obtaining a license or who 
violates this chapter shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.  A person who is not licensed may not bring 
or maintain an action to recover fees for court reporting services that he or she performed in violation of 
this chapter.   Whenever  it appears to the board that any court reporter has violated this chapter, the 
board may,  in  its own name, petition the circuit court of the county  in which the violation occurred to 
enjoin the violation. 
Code of Alabama 1975, �34‐8B‐13 – Each person licensed pursuant to this chapter shall apply for renewal 
of his or her license pursuant to dates established by the board.  A renewal fee in an amount determined 
by the board shall be paid and thereupon the board shall issue a numbered license establishing that the 
holder  is entitled to practice court reporting for the period determined by the board.   The board shall 
require specific continuing education as a condition for license renewal.  The board may provide for the 
late renewal of a license which has lapsed and may require the payment of a late fee or an examination, 
or both, prior to  issuing a renewal license.   Licensees shall notify the board in writing of any change of 
address within 30 days of the change. 
Alabama  Board  of  Court  Reporting  Administrative  Code,  r.  257‐X‐5‐.03  (1)(b)  –  The  board may  fine, 
suspend,  revoke,  or  otherwise  discipline  any  court  reporter  or  deny  an  application  for  renewal  or 
reinstatement of a  court  reporter’s  license upon proof  that  the person  is guilty of  fraud or deceit  in 
procuring or attempting to procure a license by misrepresenting or falsifying facts in applying for original 
licensure, renewal, restoration, or reinstatement of a license. 
Alabama Board of Court Reporting Administrative Code, r. 257‐X‐6‐.01(1) – Beginning with the September 
30, 2008, renewal, and every renewal thereafter, every  licensee who applies for a renewal of a  license 
shall complete  five  (5) hours of continuing education  (CE)  relevant  to  the practice of court  reporting.  
Additional CE hours obtained may be rolled over to the next renewal for up to thirty‐six (36) months. 
Disposition: 
Board and respondent entered  into a consent order under which respondent acknowledged certifying 
that she had obtained the minimum number of CE hours required by the board, but did not, in fact, have 
the required CE hours for 2021‐2022 or for the two preceding years.  Respondent agreed to pay a fine in 
the  amount  of  $1,500  ($500  per  year  of  non‐compliance  with  CE  requirements)  and  to  provide 
documentation of completion of 15 CE hours  for  the  three years  for which CE was  lacking, as well as 
documentation of a board‐approved three‐hour course/program on Ethics in Court Reporting. 
 
Paige Solley – License #358 
Date:  March 10, 2022 
Violation: 
Code  of  Alabama  1975,  �34‐8B‐7  –  The  board  shall  promulgate  rules  necessary  to  implement  and 
administer this chapter.  The rules shall be adopted pursuant to the Alabama Administrative Procedure 
Act.   The  rules  shall be published  in  the  standards of professional practice and made available  to all 
licensees. 
 



Alabama  Board  of  Court  Reporting  Administrative  Code,  r.  257‐X‐4‐.01(g)  –  It  is  the  licensee’s 
responsibility to preserve his/her shorthand notes and audio files (if any) for a period of no less than five 
(5) years, except as otherwise prescribed by  law, e.g.,  the Alabama Unified  Judicial System’s Records 
Retention Schedule for the Circuit, District, Juvenile and Municipal Courts, through storage of the audio 
files and  the original paper notes or  the English  transcript of  the notes on computer disks, cassettes, 
backup tape systems, or optical or laser disk systems. 
Alabama Board of Court Reporting Administrative Code, r. 257‐X‐5‐.04(1)(3)(b) – (1)  Upon self‐disclosure 
or receipt of a written complaint on an ABCR Consumer Complaint Form signed by the person making the 
complaint, alleging that a court reporter has violated a statute or rule by committing one or more of the 
actions specified as grounds  for disciplinary action,  the Executive Director shall perform a preliminary 
review of the facts stated to determine if a violation of the Board’s law or its rules may have occurred.  
The Consumer Complaint Form must be complete before an investigation is initiated.  Complains must be 
submitted to the Board within ninety (90) days of the alleged occurrence.  (3)  When the Executive Director 
determines that there may be merit and sufficient evidence to warrant an investigation, and investigative 
committee  shall  be  formed,  consisting  of  one  (1)  Board member,  Board  counsel,  and  the  Executive 
Director.  3(b) The committee shall review the complaint and other information submitted to determine 
if further investigation is warranted.  
Disposition: 
Board and respondent entered into a consent order under which respondent acknowledged having been 
unable to produce a transcript for a hearing conducted in Limestone County Circuit Court on September 
8, 2021, necessitating a  rehearing on  the  case  in question  that was  conducted on October 26, 2021.  
Respondent agreed to pay a fine in the amount of $500, to provide documentation of completion of five 
(5) CE hours  that  address  technical  aspects of  computer‐integrated  real  time  reporting,  transcription 
and/or related technology, and to demonstrate to the board the she possesses or has obtained technology 
sufficient to maintain back‐up steno notes to ensure the machine used is backing up the steno as she is 
writing  on  her  paper,  and  for  preservation  of  all  reported material  in  compliance with  the  board’s 
minimum requirements. 
 
Tammy Hastings‐Petrone – License #122 
Date:  March 10, 2022 
Violation: 
Code  of  Alabama  1975,  �34‐8B‐7  ‐  The  board  shall  promulgate  rules  necessary  to  implement  and 
administer this chapter.  The rules shall be adopted pursuant to the Alabama Administrative Procedure 
Act.   The  rules  shall be published  in  the  standards of professional practice and made available  to all 
licensees. 
Alabama Board of Court Reporting Administrative Code, r. 257‐X‐4‐.01(c) – A licensee, if requested, shall 
provide information regarding services to be rendered regarding administration of professional services 
to all parties.  The licensee must strive to meet promised delivery dates whenever possible, make timely 
delivery of transcripts when no date is specified, and provide immediate notification of delays. 
Disposition: 
Board and respondent entered  into a consent order under which respondent acknowledged  failure  to 
provide timely a transcript in a case before the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals as specified in a Contempt 
Order  issued  by  the  Court.    Respondent  agreed  to  pay  a  fine  in  the  amount  of  $1,000,  to  provide 
documentation  of  completion  of  25  hours  of  CE  that  address  topics  related  to  time management, 
Zoom/remote reporting, personal development, e.g., motivation and overcoming obstacles and ethics in 
court reporting, and to a suspension of licensure for a period of six months from the effective date of the 
Order of March 10, 2022, through September 9, 2022. 
 



Carol Cook – License #253 
Date:  March 10, 2022 
Violation: 
Code of Alabama 1975, �34‐8B‐8 – After  January 1, 2007, any person who undertakes or attempts  to 
undertake the practice of court reporting for remuneration without first having procured a license, or who 
knowingly presents of files false information with the board for the purpose of obtaining a license or who 
violates this chapter shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.  A person who is not licensed may not bring 
or maintain an action to recover fees for court reporting services that he or she performed in violation of 
this chapter.   Whenever  it appears to the board that any court reporter has violated this chapter, the 
board may,  in  its own name, petition the circuit court of the county  in which the violation occurred to 
enjoin the violation. 
Alabama Board of Court Reporting Administrative Code, r. 257‐X‐4‐.01(j) – A licensee’s signature, license 
number, and expiration date, and the date the transcript was certified shall be affixed to a transcript of 
his/her stenographic notes to certify to its correctness if the transcript has been prepared by him/her or 
under his/her direct supervision. 
Alabama Board of Court Reporting Administrative Code, r. 257‐X‐5‐.04 (3) – When the Executive Director 
determines  there may  be merit  and  sufficient  evidence  to warrant  an  investigation,  an  investigative 
committee  shall  be  formed,  consisting  of  one  (1)  Board member,  Board  counsel,  and  the  Executive 
Director. 
Disposition: 
Board and  respondent entered  into a  consent order under which  respondent acknowledged  that her 
license expired on September 30, 2022, due to failure to renew timely, respondent did not respond to 
reminders regarding her failure to renew dated October 6, 2021, November 8, 2021, and November 22, 
2021, a  letter dated December 1, 2021, sent certified mail,  return  receipt  requested,  to  respondent’s 
address  on  file  with  the  board  advising  respondent  that  her  license  had  expired  was  returned 
undeliverable and unable to forward due to respondent’s failure to advise the board timely of a change 
of address as required by the Rules & Regulations, that while unlicensed respondent certified a transcript 
falsely showing her license expiration date as September 30, 2022, that respondent performed a number 
of jobs after September 30, 2021, while she was unlicensed and thereby ineligible to practice.  Respondent 
agreed to pay a fine of $6,500, provide documentation of completion of five (5) CE hours that address 
ethics in court reporting, immediately provide all court reporting firms with which she is affiliated as an 
employee or independent contractor with a copy of the Order and cause each to acknowledge that a copy 
of the Order has been provided, provide written notice, in a form provided by the board, to all attorneys 
or other entities  in Alabama for which Respondent provided court reporting services for remuneration 
without a current license from the board.  The board agreed to a reinstatement of licensure, with such 
licensure suspended, until completion by respondent of the preceding requirements. 
 


